Will local Tories see the effect of welfare cuts

When we as councillors have the privilege of being elected we take the responsibility to represent all our residents no mater if they voted for us or not. When we are contacted by residents for help we don’t ask their voting preferences or which party they support.

Now I am confidant that all the councillors no mater what party will try to asset any resident that would approach them.

We are at the start of some of the biggest changes to the welfare system since its inception and the government has responded to critics with some very negative them and us rhetoric

I have had some residents approach me for help with some benefit related issues and when discussing this with one of my colleagues I was thinking as these changes are being brought in by the government and with some of the rhetoric that has been thrown around will people be put off seeking help from Tory councillors.

Once again I have no doubt they would try to help if approached but I do wonder if these factors may lead to people not asking them for help and as a result they may not see or be fully aware of the effect these changes are having on people

About glenchisholm

Former Mayor of Ipswich Suffolk, Labour Cllr for Whitehouse, all opinions my own and do not reflect organisations I represent, Si-fi geek and Raiders fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment