What Fathers Day Means To Me

This time of year is always hard for me and my family, Not only is it fathers day but it also coincides with the anniversary of my Dad’s death. Everywhere you look is a reminder of the day and I can’t expect the world to stop and put down what they are doing because of my grief.

The man I called Dad was Granville Chisholm, He was not my natural father but when he married my mother he adopted me and raised me just as if I was his own. He taught me so much and helped shape and form the person I am today. As I grew and became a parent myself I developed a newfound respect for what my dad done in raising another man’s son and a better understanding of how much he loved his family and I wish I could tell him how much he is loved by his family.

As the years go by you learn how to adjust and deal with loss but the pain is still there. You hold on to precious memory’s but there is sadness in your heart when you think of the life they are missing out on. So much has happened in the 13 years since my dad passed at times even though our cores are the same we as people have changed shaped by circumstance and twist of fate some of fortune some cruel.

Ignoring fathers day was never an option, someone has always managed to bring a smile on my face no mater how down I feel. As I said I’m not just a son I’m also a father myself. I am blessed and honored to be the father of such a wonderful young man as my son Clinton. He has been my ray of sunshine on a fathers day from his cheeky little grin giving me a card when he was a small child to sitting in a restaurant sharing time and conversation as he matures into the fine young man he has become.

So today I wish the best for all the dads out there and also to all the father figures and role models trying to make a difference in a young child’s life. I’ll be spending the day with my son and remembering my father

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Fathers Day Means To Me

  1. Mrs. Mari Gibbs says:

    Came across your comments by sheer accident. About 40 years ago my late husband and I worked for a large elec. company supplying equipment for power stations and we both knew a Granville Chisholm – would this have been your father?

  2. glenchisholm says:

    It is not a very common name if it was in the Ipswich area it might well of been

Leave a Reply

